Art and Hard Work

In art school, they will teach you the basic fundamentals, theories, and concepts of art. But they can’t teach you how to draw. It was quite hard for a novice like me, when I was still studying, that there were tons of students who were way better than me. They’re my inspiration and also my source of depression. There were thoughts like, “How did they do that?” “Why didn’t I think of that first?” And the only way to survive art school is to develop yourself. Draw, draw, draw.

I have seen this on tumblr and it really speaks a lot.

tumblr_lztnigf0oq1qj3fvjo4_1280

One of the problems that I encountered was my art style. Each artists had their distinct style that keeps them recognizable than others. It is developed after tons of practice and work. In art school, they will let you do a lot of different styles like Picasso’s, Van Gogh’s, and so on. It’s not a bad idea to do it, you’ll be more flexible making different art and designs to come up with your own. It’s part of the process.

I encountered various Professors, they would assign you to draw something, and they will judge and verdict it according to their own tastes or styles. The student has to somewhat, adjust to their tastes in order to satisfy them and have a good grade. If you’re really a good artist during that time, it would be a piece of cake. If you’re not, like me, you’ll probably end up with art identity crisis.

An artist should be flexible in creating tons of different art, but they also should have their uniqueness. The solution to keep that uniqueness is: draw, draw, draw. Draw without thinking of pleasing others. “Ah it’s a little bit too…” “You should add more…” ignore other comments or critics. Draw freely. Always have some time to draw on your sketch pad or anywhere just for your own eyes only.

I have graduated art school but I’m still in the process of creating my own distinct style. I have created tons of artworks and I know that I have not yet reached that stage of finding my own signature art. If you look back to your own artworks you will see similarities, that style you want to develop but it’s not yet perfect. It’s really nice to be inspired by other artists works, how you can see its uniqueness. It’s a product of their hard work.

Draw, draw, draw.

Leave a Reply

